Formed 2004 ... Herts 7s U14 Runners-up 2005 ... North Herts U14 team, Herts Youth Games 2005 runners-up (coached by Letchworth)... Herts Superteams U14 Runners-up 2005 ... Herts SuperTeams "Fairplay" winners 2006 ... Rochford 10s U17 Champions 2006 ... East Midlands 10s U17 Runners-up 2007 ... East Midlands 10s U17 "Fairplay" winners 2007 ... National 10s U17 5th place and "Fairplay" winners 2007 ... Herts 7s U17 Plate runners-up 2007 ... National 7s U17 Plate winners 2007 ... RFU "President's XV" Award winners 2007 ... Herts Superteams winners 2007 ... Midlands 10s U18 Runners-up 2008 ... National 10s U18 4th place 2008 ... North Herts U11 team, Herts Youth Games 2008 runners-up (coached by Letchworth girls) ... London and SE 7s U18 Plate runners-up 2008 ... Herts 7s U18s runners-up 2008 ... National 7s U18s quarter-finalists 2008 ... Gloucester City 10s U18 Bowl runner-up (6th) 2009 ... Worthing 10s U18 Plate runner-up 2009 ... National 7s U18 Plate winners 2009... Worthing 10s U15 Plate winners 2010... Worthing 10s U18 Shield winners 2010... Herts 7s U15 and U18 Bowl runners-up 2010... National 7s U18 Plate runners-up 2010...

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

IRB announce World Cup qualification process

The IRB have revealed how the 12 teams that will play in the 2014 Women's Rugby World Cup in Paris will be selected. The actual announcement is on ScrumQueens but - cutting through the verbiage - it looks something like this....

Automatic qualifiers:
1. New Zealand (holders)
2. England (2010 runners-up)
3. Australia (2010 third place)
4. France (host)
5. USA (2010 5th)
6. Canada (2010 6th)

Other qualifiers:
This is a bit of guesswork as the press release is not exactly clear in places...
7. Asian 15s champions 2013
8. African qualifier (Winner of South Africa vs. 2013 Elgon Cup winner (Kenya or Uganda))
9. Six Nations team
10. Six Nations team
These two Six Nations teams will be the best two teams from the 2012 and 2013 Six Nations combined - apart from England and France.  
11. Euro/Oceania qualification winner
12. Euro/Oceania qualification runner-up
The remaining two Six Nations teams will play-off in a qualifier in 2013 alongside probably other European nations and one team from Oceania. Exactly how THAT will work is not covered - but a best guess is that this will consist of two pools. Seedings will be based on the results of the 2012 European Cup Pool B. The eight teams will probably be...
  • Six Nations team 
  • Six Nations team 
  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Russia 
  • Sweden 
  • Finland 
  • Pacific team (probably Samoa, but method of selection to be announced 
The great step forward is the inclusion of Kenya and Uganda in the process - but there is still no chance for the Caribbean teams to take part in the process, or anyone from South America. Its a small step forward, but the IRB could have included everyone. In practice, compared to four years ago one more team is included...
  • Europe - 2010: 12 nations took part, in 2014 11 will
  • Africa - 2010: 1 nation took part, in 2014 3 will
  • N America- 2010 and 2014: 2 nations
  • Asia - 2010 and 2014: identical qualification process
  • Oceania/Pacific - 2010 and 2014: 3 nations
  • Caribbean - 2010 and 2014: 0 nations
  • S & C America: - 2010 and 2014: 0 nations


  1. Anonymous7:05 PM

    Am I right in thinking World Cup matches all take place in Paris? Any idea of the dates?

  2. Yes, should be in Paris - but exactly where will be up to the FFR as well as the IRB. You will note that in 2010 the World Cup took place in Guildford, which is most definitely NOT "London", so really it could be anywhere in central France!

    August probably.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Total Pageviews (since June 2009)

Sport Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory