Formed 2004 ... Herts 7s U14 Runners-up 2005 ... North Herts U14 team, Herts Youth Games 2005 runners-up (coached by Letchworth)... Herts Superteams U14 Runners-up 2005 ... Herts SuperTeams "Fairplay" winners 2006 ... Rochford 10s U17 Champions 2006 ... East Midlands 10s U17 Runners-up 2007 ... East Midlands 10s U17 "Fairplay" winners 2007 ... National 10s U17 5th place and "Fairplay" winners 2007 ... Herts 7s U17 Plate runners-up 2007 ... National 7s U17 Plate winners 2007 ... RFU "President's XV" Award winners 2007 ... Herts Superteams winners 2007 ... Midlands 10s U18 Runners-up 2008 ... National 10s U18 4th place 2008 ... North Herts U11 team, Herts Youth Games 2008 runners-up (coached by Letchworth girls) ... London and SE 7s U18 Plate runners-up 2008 ... Herts 7s U18s runners-up 2008 ... National 7s U18s quarter-finalists 2008 ... Gloucester City 10s U18 Bowl runner-up (6th) 2009 ... Worthing 10s U18 Plate runner-up 2009 ... National 7s U18 Plate winners 2009... Worthing 10s U15 Plate winners 2010... Worthing 10s U18 Shield winners 2010... Herts 7s U15 and U18 Bowl runners-up 2010... National 7s U18 Plate runners-up 2010...

Wednesday, February 09, 2011

Rugger Girls: Part 8


Eighth chapter of the summary of the history of women's rugby, from the book "Rugger Girls"("Des Filles en Ovalie"), written by Jacques B. Corti and Yaneth Pinilla Foreword by Serge Betsen. Published weekly(ish) by French women's rugby blog Des Filles en Ovalie.

At the beginning  the 1980s major projects inspire AFRF. We dreamt of a team representing France. Claude Izoard: "When this idea began to take hold, we immediately saw that the FFR was interested. All of a sudden they gave more attention to our arguments."

On October 26, 1982 a Memorandum of Understanding is signed yet with the FFR. In some ways it marks the end of the "illegality" of the women's rugby. From that date the girls could play freely, develop their game in schools rugby, coaches licenced by the AFRF could follow the training and coaching of the FFR, clubs could open male and female sections, and FFR referees and officials could be appointed to female matches.

But a memorandum of agreement is not the rugby equivalent of "open sesame". Recognition of girls by the FFR was not instantaneous because the bureaucracy gets involved. Not until December 16, 1983 does the Ministry of Youth and Sport agree (Circular No. 1.S.131.Y ). Finally, women's clubs can, theoretically at least, receive subsidies from the government.

Under the leadership of the Ministry, AFRF becomes, May 23, 1984, the French Rugby Federation Women, FFRF. And the headquarters moves from Toulouse to Bourg-en-Bresse.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Total Pageviews (since June 2009)

Sport Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory